Skip to main content

Google+ profile no longer needed for YouTube, other Google platforms

Google+ profiles will no longer be the be-all and end-all identity for users across the company's platforms such as YouTube. Google+ was launched in June 2011 as a social network to give users a single identity across all Google platforms, but some users did not react well to the forced integration with Google+.

+Bradley Horowitz  Google's vice president of streams, photos and sharing, wrote in a blog post Monday that although the company got certain things right with Google+, there were a few choices that, "in hindsight, we've needed to rethink."

In a bid to make a "more focused, more useful, more engaging" Google+, Horowitz said, over the next few months the company will unravel certain Google+ features and only require a Google account for access.

google-plus-india


So there are two important changes to take note of:

  1. YouTube will no longer require a Google+ profile when you want to upload, comment, or create a channel. If you’re happy with everything as it is now, then just keep on keeping on. If you want to remove your Google+ profile, you’ll be able to do this in the coming months, but do not do it now or you’ll delete your YouTube channel.
  2. Comments made on YouTube videos from the YouTube side will stay on YouTube, and comments made on YouTube videos from the G+ side will stay on G+ and not be forcibly displayed on the YouTube side as well. 

And for people who already created Google+ profiles but don’t plan to use Google+ itself, Google will be offering better options for managing and removing those public profiles. Users are expected to see these changes roll out in stages over several months. 

Recently, Google announced that it's shutting down Google+ Photos by Aug. 1 to make room for a stand-alone Google Photos app.

Hope Google+ is heading the right direction.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Cleaning Up Your Google+ Communities

Google Plus Communities are gaining ground and is finding lot of interests among social media enthusiasts and users. It is the best to start building your network and relationship with people of similar interests. Once you join, it is always better to review them now and then to keep it organized.
Just like we organize our Circles, we need to do the same thing with Communities regularly if we're going to continue to gain value from the Communities and Google+.

It is better to review those communities that either aren't active, or are not providing you with the valuable discussion you were looking for.These excess communities add to the total number of communities listed on your community page, complicating your ability to find and participate in the communities you're interested in. And posts to these extra communities could show up in your Home stream  and may even affect what your want see in What's Hot or Explore section of the Google+.


How to leave a community:
Firs…

What is Google Allo?

What is Google Allo?

Google Allo is a messaging app which will compete with the likes of Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp and iMessage. The main difference is that Allo comes with some machine learning built in, courtesy of Google Assistant, the company’s virtual assistant.





Google Allo Features:

Smart Reply: The app will learn your communication style and be able to suggest responses accordingly. It’s programmed to suggest responses to both text and photos, so you can keep the conversation going with minimal typing.Ink: Simply, this feature allows you make creative additions to photos before sending them.Whisper Shout: Instead of typing in all caps to make yourself loud and clear, you can quickly change the size of your text with a swipe.Stickers: Independent artists and studios from around the world have designed exclusive stickers for use in chats.Incognito Mode: In addition to offering end-to-end encryption, while in this mode you can also set your messages to expire after a certain amoun…

Google+ New: Google+ Insights

Google+ New: Google+ insights

In its recent update, Google+ brinngs insights to profiles and pages, a private dashboard where you can see the engagement on all your posts, and on reshares of your posts, as well as follows on your profile and Collections.




This feature is indeed a welcome update, as it helps you to see how you’re doing on the platform, whether you post as a person or a page. To find your dashboard, visit your profile on the web version of Google+ (plus.google.com/me) and open the three dots menu at the top.

What are your views on New Google+ and this update?